Skip to comments.Dodgers turn first 2-5-6-3 triple play in history but Padres cry foul over umpire’s actions
Posted on 04/16/2012 8:54:25 AM PDT by rawhide
Before Sunday, it had been 130 years since anyone turned a similar type of bizarre triple play that the Los Angeles Dodgers turned against the San Diego Padres in the ninth inning of a 5-4 win.
But with the logistics involved and the help from the home plate umpire that the Dodgers received, it'll probably take another 130 years for anyone to do it again.
For those keeping score at home, that's a 2-5-6-3 triple play that went around all four bases, the first 2-5-6-3 triple play that featured a putout at third, second and first.
(Excerpt) Read more at sports.yahoo.com ...
the ball was struck by the bat, landed in foul territory, and then, untouched by any player, proceeded to roll fair.
by rule, that is a fair ball. the triple play was legitimate.
Looked like a good play to me. Confusion over the ump hand gestures, but it hit the bat like a bunt. Went fair.
That’s my take as well.
this is why you ALWAYS run out a foul ball.
What does 2-5-6-3 represent??
when keeping box scores a 2-5-6-3 lets someone that is reading it know what happend in the play. each number represents a defensive position. 2 = catcher, 5= third, 6 = short stop, 3 = first baseman. so if you know there was three outs made this play and the order of people involved in the play.. you can picture how it went down without watching video/radio.
Agree, but the home plate ump definitely gave the base runners the wrong hand signals, causing them all to think it was a foul ball. Therefore they did not run, thus the triple play.
I wonder what the rules say in situations like this?
Thanks, I understand now.
-—Confusion over the ump hand gestures, but it hit the bat like a bunt. Went fair.-—
Cool. I guess they can complain about the ump’s signals, but if in doubt, play to the whistle. There’s no excuse for the batter not running it out.
Scoring, in baseball, is done using numbers to represent the defensive posistions. I don’t know the sequence off the top of my head. I think the catcher is 2 and then threw to the third basemen, who was 5, etc.
Catcher-third base-shortstop (covering second)-first base.
Catcher to third baseman to shortstop to first baseman.
The Dodger catcher made a real heads up play by going for the ball while it was still moving in fair territory. Had he allowed it to roll foul again, there would have been no play. What I found really amazing is that the Seattle players and the batter all froze after the ump made the fair ball call.
They would probably have been out anyway, but back in the 60's or 70's, the player would have been fined by the team for at least not trying to advance.
I saw what you saw. Probably should have run it out, just to be sure.
The Padres weren’t very mobile either :)
I was watching the game, and you are bang on about the catcher making a heads up play.
it appeared as though he started to pick it up in foul territory, but saw the potential for a multi-out play and let it roll.
for whatever reason, he waited for it to go fair before he pounced on it, and directed the infielders to throw the ball back across all three bases.
If the ball were ever “foul” on the play, it cannot become “fair”, or “un-foul” by being untouched by a player, etc.
I recognize that an untouched “fair” ball CAN become “foul” by rule, but you would need to explain to me how the reciprocal was true.
The call had to have been “fair ball” from the beginning for this play to be within the rule.
Certainly a strange looking play. I think the fact that the batter bailed out would have made the runners think it either hit the batter or was a foul ball.
Reminds me of Game 4 of the 1980 NLCS when pitcher Vern Ruhle trapped a short bloop and the Phillies didn’t know whether to run or not so they moved halfway off the bases. Ruhle, of the Astros, threw to first to double off that runner and, after a small delay, the first baseman threw down to second to double off that runner for a triple play while the Phillies were beginning to argue with the umpires.
The NL president was in attendance and he decided that two of the Phillies were out but the runner on second could stay. Here’s the audio of that moment:
If a foul ball is untouched by a fielder or object and then rolls fair before it passes first or third base and the fielder touches the ball in fair territory, it is a fair ball. I’ve seen it happen before.
The fair-foul scenario is more common because it is usually in the fielder’s best interest to touch the ball when it is foul and thus no play because runners are advancing. In this case, however, the fielder’s advantage was a fair ball because the force was in order and nobody was running.
2 (catcher) to 5 (third baseman) to 6 (shortstop covering second) to 3 (first baseman)
The ump that was right there stuck BOTH his hands up in the air, then actually raised BOTH of them higher. Harold Reynolds on MLB network had them freeze it. Unless he was fending off a bee, I would have thought dead ball. It was an umpire assist, which is bound to happen sometimes I guess. I think even Vin Scully said it was a no play signal from the ump.
You reminded me of the ump who called a runner stealing second “safe” while at the same time giving the ‘out’ sign. The runner complained, “but, but, you called me safe.” “Son, you heard me call you safe but 50,000 people saw me punch you out....you are out.”
I never said any of that. and I needn’t explain anything to you. either you get it, or you don’t.
either way, it’s just not my problem.
A foul call means foul. If the ump was wrong, nothing you can do about it. The runners have to be able to rely on the ump. Here, what seems to have happened is that the ump realized it wasn't foul and then wanted to pretend that he hadn't called it foul because then he looks like he made a mistake. But instead, he made a bigger one, by giving a team a triple play.
I saw it. It was great. The Padres were caught dumbfounded.
There are plays that can be overturned if another ump had priority on the call, or the ump with priority asks for help. An "out" call can be made safe, a checked swing can be called a swing, etc. But a foul call is not one of those calls that can be changed. Either he made the call or he didn't. If he made the call, the play is over.
But that the umps had a conference after the play and all decided to let it stand.
This was it. You’ve got to see it.
The other umps could not overrule his call, but they may have had a discussion about it, and decided it was better to pretend that he didn't call it foul than to take back a triple play. Or he may have claimed he didn't call it foul, and the others could not do anything about it. There is a very strong ethic to stick together, even if one of you has made a mistake. They know they all make mistakes sometimes, and if you obsess over ever missed strike or out, you will not make it. Make the call and move on. Just try not to make too many bad ones, and keep it consistent. Make enough bad ones, and they will get rid of you eventually.
Because I’m cubicle bound I cannot see the video. The strangest part of this is the SS covering 2nd base and receiving a throw from the 3rd baseman. I guess the “bunt” must have been towards 1st base to draw the SS to 2nd base with the 2nd baseman covering 1st?
Or too, as Vinney suggested, to see if anyone had a different view of it.
But, as you say, Blue at the plate ultimately makes the call. And incidently, Padres manager Bud Black was ejected for arguing his counter-perspective too strongly.
Still, you've got to give the Dodger catcher credit for recognizing the rare opportunity which the play afforded and milking it for all it was worth.
Apparently, there are two exceptions to that rule:
The runners should have run instantly when they saw the ball not in the air but on the ground and should have ignored the home plate umpire. There are base umpires who will tell them to stop and return to their original base on a foul ball. That those umpires did not do so is all we need to know: all four umpires agreed it was a fair ball.
At what age were you when you stopped playing in Little League?
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.