Free Republic
Browse · Search
Bloggers & Personal
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

Vote On Switchblade Repeal In Texas
8 April, 2013 | John Richardson

Posted on 04/08/2013 7:18:30 AM PDT by marktwain

This weekend Knife Rights issued an alert regarding a repeal of the ban on switchblades in Texas. They are asking that those who reside, work, or travel to Texas contact the legislators below urging their support for HB 1862 which would repeal the ban.

I'm glad to see that Knife Rights is working so hard on the second front for the Second Amendment.

In Texas, Knife Rights supported HB1862 has been scheduled for a hearing this Tuesday, April 9, before the Texas House Committee on Criminal Jurisprudence. HB1862, sponsored by Representative Harold Dutton Jr., will repeal the antiquated, senseless ban on the possession of switchblade (automatic) knives in Texas. Knife Rights lobbyist Todd Rathner is on his way to Austin to testify on this important bill and he needs YOUR help!

If you live, work or travel in Texas, PLEASE Call and Write EACH of the Committee Members TODAY and urge them to vote in favor of HB1862.

Chairman: Rep. Abel Herrero 512-463-0462 abel.herrero@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Stefani Carter 512-463-0454 stefani.carter@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Lon Burnam 512-463-0740 lon.burnam@house.state.tx.us Rep. Terry Canales 512-463-0426 terry.canales@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Bryan Hughes 512-463-0271 bryan.hughes@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Jeff Leach 512-463-0544 jeff.leach@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Joe Moody 512-463-0728 joe.moody@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Matt Schaefer 512-463-0584 matt.schaefer@house.state.tx.us

Rep. Steve Toth 512-463-0797 steve.toth@house.state.tx.us

Whether writing or calling, all that is necessary is to simply ask them to vote in favor of HB1862. Keep it POLITE, short and to the point.



TOPICS: Business/Economy; Government; Politics; Society
KEYWORDS: banglist; guncontrol; knife; legislation; secondamendment; tx; vanity
Knives are arms protected by the Second Amendment.
1 posted on 04/08/2013 7:18:30 AM PDT by marktwain
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | View Replies]

To: marktwain

It would be almost nostalgic to see gangs using switchblades.


2 posted on 04/08/2013 7:42:15 AM PDT by DesertRhino (I was standing with a rifle, waiting for soviet paratroopers, but communists just ran for office.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: marktwain

I would love for my switchblades to become legal.
My favorite one has a broken locking mechanism and I would love to be able to get it repaired.


3 posted on 04/08/2013 8:36:03 AM PDT by VRWCmember
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: marktwain

A blade is a blade is a blade. How hard is that to figure out?


4 posted on 04/08/2013 8:41:01 AM PDT by Standing Wolf
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.

Free Republic
Browse · Search
Bloggers & Personal
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson