Skip to comments.Roethlisberger admits: 'I don't think I got in'
Posted on 02/07/2006 4:59:52 PM PST by B Knotts
Before David Letterman got to shave Ben Roethlisberger's beard Monday night, he got the Steelers' Super Bowl-winning quarterback to admit a little something that might rankle Seahawks fans even more.
Roethlisberger told Letterman that he didn't think he scored on a controversial play in the second quarter that put the Steelers ahead for good 7-3. Roethlisberger dove toward the end zone but didn't appear to get the ball to touch the goal line. But officials on the field signaled touchdown.
"I told Coach, 'I don't think I got in,'"
Roethlisberger told Letterman. "But we were getting ready to go for it on fourth down anyway, and I would have run it again. So we would have found a way to get in."
The play infuriated Seahawks coach Mike Holmgren and has provided Seattle fans plenty of fodder for their fury over the game's questionable calls. Referee Bill Leavy upheld the call after a replay review, and Holmgren then upbraided Leavy on his way off the field at halftime.
Holmgren walked over to Leavy, a fifth-year referee calling his first Super Bowl, and could be seen angrily telling him, "It wasn't even close."
(Excerpt) Read more at msn.foxsports.com ...
Only stating the obvious.
No kidding. Clearly wasn't in.
So what, questionable calls are a part of the game. If one bad call makes them fall apart, then they didn't deserve to win anyway.
It was still fairly early in the game, and they would have been insane not to just get the field goal to tie it up before the end of the first half.
That makes two of us -- I was convinced he didn't get in either! But then I didn't think there was offensive pass interference on the Seattle touchdown called back or even Madden couldn't find a holding call on the pass that would have put Seattle inside the five yard line.
I am not a fan of either team but the officiating was totally rotten. If I didn't know better, I would say the fix was in with these refs.
Roethlisberger also stated (and so did coach Cowher) that they would have gone for the touchdown on 4rth down if the call went the other way. From the 1 inch line, their chances were excellent either way. Oh, and from the many replays I saw, I believe the tip of the ball did cross into the white line, but not over. Still counts as 6. All that is needed is for any part of the ball to cross the plane of the white line.
It wasn't one bad call it was at least three. All against the Seahawks and ALL costing touchdowns.
They would hand the ball over on the one inch line, get the safety and the ball. Even better.
Oh yea, now wasn't that a ridiculous call?!? Almost as bad as some of the calls the Sharks get. Oh cr@p this isn't a hockey thread? My bad.
Like I said, it was still early in the game. I can't believe they wouldn't have gone for the easy 3 points.
It does almost seem like they snuck in some NHL refs.
Steelers are a little different. They have always relied on defense, and anything the offense can give them is bonus. Odds are they would have got it in on the next down, but if they didn't, the defense would have had good odds on the sack, or even a fumble in the endzone.
ONE bad call?
I don't think that either team deserved to win. Pittsburgh had no offense for most of the first half. Seattle moved the ball well but Stevens dropped passes in crucial situations.
Yes, he did break the goal line. I am no Steeler fan, nor a Seahawk fan. Yesterday, I cared less who won.
But as far as that call goes - The end zone begins where the white goal line begins and extends indefinitely perpendicular, upwards, into space from each side line. The end zone ends where the white line begins on the end line and extends to each side line.
The ball, any part of the ball whether it is the tip, or the side panel has to simply "touch" that goal line, albeit in space, extended. The ball, cradled in his right arm, crossed that perpendicular line extended as he was in flight. That was the touchdown. The play was over right then and there, while he was in the air. It doesn't have to get into the blue area of the end zone, it simply has to "touch" the imaginary line extended.
In flight, he was pushed backwards in mid air, landed short of the goal line when he came down, but as soon as the ball touched the line in possession of a player, it is a touchdown. Reply showed that. There was a camera in perfect position to capture that shot. It was the exact shot the linesman or line judge had.
This picture is from the back of the end zone and even it shows TD in flight. Look at the goal line in relation to the ball. The TV camera was a perfect picture.
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.