Skip to comments.Holland Under-19 1 England Under-19 0: Linesman's blunder robs Delfouneso...
Posted on 07/23/2010 1:09:42 AM PDT by Berlin_Freeper
England's luck gets no better. After a Uruguayan referee denied Frank Lampard a goal at the World Cup, a Georgian linesman wrongly ruled out Nathan Delfouneso's equaliser against Holland for handball.
Delfouneso, the Aston Villa striker, begged to differ but the referee went with his colleague and with that went England's hope.
Now England's stay at the European Under 19 Championship probably relies on them defeating France in Saint-Lo on Saturday.
'We expected it to go to the wire,' said England manager Noel Blake. 'I'll be diplomatic, I couldn't see the "goal" from my angle, but I couldn't see any infringement. 'At that time we were very much on top. I'm not blaming the official, he gave what he saw. Nathan said it was a goal and I believe him.'
Delfouneso was more open in his frustration. 'I don't where the decision came from,' he said. 'I thought it was a perfectly good goal. It didn't touch me anywhere. I was off celebrating when I saw they'd given a handball.'
The disallowed goal came in the 61st minute, during England's best period - in fact in the four halves they have played, the second here was the best.
(Excerpt) Read more at dailymail.co.uk ...
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.