Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

Phil Mickelson's tee shot ends up in spectator's shorts. I kid you not.
PGA ^

Posted on 02/19/2012 8:50:34 AM PST by Wiz-Nerd

Mickelson's tee on No. 15 in Round 3 of Northern Trust In the third round of the 2012 Northern Trust Open, Phil Mickelson's tee shot on the par-4 15th hole actually ends up in a fan's shorts.


TOPICS: Chit/Chat; Humor; Sports
KEYWORDS: golf; pga; philmickelson

1 posted on 02/19/2012 8:50:38 AM PST by Wiz-Nerd
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

I guess Phil’s been playing a lot of golf. This seems to be a common problem for men.


2 posted on 02/19/2012 8:52:42 AM PST by blueunicorn6 ("A crack shot and a good dancer")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

Is that your putter or are you just happy to see me?


3 posted on 02/19/2012 8:54:34 AM PST by Dr. Ursus
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

Was watching yesterday when it happend....funny


4 posted on 02/19/2012 8:54:38 AM PST by illiac (If we don't change directions soon, we'll get where we're going)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

Way to go, Lefty! Guaranteed to show up on ESPN’s “Not Top 10”


5 posted on 02/19/2012 8:54:59 AM PST by ssaftler
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

Yooo hooo! Jutht playing throu-ooo!


6 posted on 02/19/2012 8:55:19 AM PST by Yaelle (Go Santorum!)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

That was cool. The guy knew he had to just lay there until Phil put his marker down. Then Phil kindly signed a glove for the good fan.

Great video, thanks for posting it.


7 posted on 02/19/2012 8:57:55 AM PST by Semper911 (When you want to rob Peter to pay Paul, you'll always have the support of Paul.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

He started the day out with two, then he had three, then lost one. Quite a day.


8 posted on 02/19/2012 8:59:38 AM PST by mkmensinger
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

http://www.yardbarker.com/golf/articles/phil_mickelson_hits_ball_into_fans_shorts_gives_him_autographed_glove_video/9999508?refmod=yb_art_top&ref_art_id=10000507


9 posted on 02/19/2012 9:00:43 AM PST by 2111USMC (Not a hard man to track. Leaves dead men wherever he goes.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

I dinna know you could work on your short game with a tee shot.


10 posted on 02/19/2012 9:00:46 AM PST by bigheadfred
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

Play it where it lies.....


11 posted on 02/19/2012 9:05:08 AM PST by GQuagmire
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

Hey Phil, play the ball where it lies. A true fan(atic) would letcha.


12 posted on 02/19/2012 9:12:40 AM PST by DManA
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

Anyone know what the rule on this is? Is the ball out of bounds? (A one shot penalty and drop from the point nearest to inbounds?) If the spectator had stayed on his feet the ball would have fallen to ground and no one would have noticed.


13 posted on 02/19/2012 9:16:50 AM PST by Lonesome in Massachussets (Ceterum autem censeo, Obama delenda est.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd
Hole in one?

I'll throw out my old pairs of underwear when I'm damn good and ready

14 posted on 02/19/2012 9:18:14 AM PST by Libloather (The epitome of civility.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: little jeremiah; rolling_stone; Greenperson

Could somebody go to http://butterdezillion.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/i-am-not-a-forger/#comment-6495 and verify that this was posted by now? I was going to take a photo of the post with my cellphone next to it but my camera just died apparently. I need to prove that this post was up before the 4pm time that Wordpress claims it was posted. Thanks!

Nellie


15 posted on 02/19/2012 9:20:13 AM PST by butterdezillion
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Lonesome in Massachussets

I would think it falls under a temporary hazard (movable object like a stand or sand rake) and you are allowed to either move the object and place or move the ball to an unobstructed lie no closer to the green.


16 posted on 02/19/2012 9:20:30 AM PST by doodad
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 13 | View Replies]

To: Semper911
Then Phil kindly signed a glove for the good fan.

As it turned out, the fan was happy to get the glove, so it's no big deal, but it was a bit presumptuous. It's like giving someone your autograph who really didn't ask for it.
17 posted on 02/19/2012 9:26:12 AM PST by Krankor (eenie meenie, chili beanie, the spirits are about to speak.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 7 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

Play the ball where it lies! Ouch.


18 posted on 02/19/2012 9:27:53 AM PST by DouglasKC
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

When I saw that guy laying on the ground with everyone gathering around him, I thought he’d had a direct shot.


19 posted on 02/19/2012 9:29:28 AM PST by ponygirl ( Obamanomics: Handing out condoms on the Titanic. (Mark Steyn))
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: doodad

And no penalty? I notice he parred.


20 posted on 02/19/2012 9:33:35 AM PST by Lonesome in Massachussets (Ceterum autem censeo, Obama delenda est.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 16 | View Replies]

To: Lonesome in Massachussets

No penalty for a hazard that is not a natural part of the course like a grandstand or other non fixed items.


21 posted on 02/19/2012 9:38:08 AM PST by doodad
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 20 | View Replies]

To: Lonesome in Massachussets

Colorado Springs, Colo. – With all the grandstands, leaderboards, television towers and hospitality structures on the championship course, the Committee has marked these objects as temporary immovable obstructions (TIO). For relief from these temporary immovable obstructions, the Committee has adopted a Local Rule requiring players to proceed to a designated dropping zone for interference by the ball in or on the TIO, the player’s stance or area of intended swing. The player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, in the dropping zone nearest to where the ball lay (even if the dropping zone may be closer to the hole). Also, the ball may be cleaned when lifted.

On the 13th hole, Ryann O’Toole hit her ball into a grandstand (TIO) and it landed on a spectator’s lap. She proceeded to the dropping zone closest to where the ball lay and dropped the ball. When she dropped the ball, it rolled outside the dropping zone. However, it did not roll more than two club-lengths from the spot where it first struck a part of the course. Therefore, according to Rule 20-2c, the ball was in play and the player was not required to re-drop. To confirm this fact, the walking referee asked the rover if the ball was properly in play. This illustrates the teamwork amongst the Rules team.


22 posted on 02/19/2012 9:44:00 AM PST by doodad
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 20 | View Replies]

To: Krankor

“Then Phil kindly signed a glove for the good fan.

As it turned out, the fan was happy to get the glove, so it’s no big deal, but it was a bit presumptuous. It’s like giving someone your autograph who really didn’t ask for it.”
***************************************************
It could have been far worse for the fan. Mickelson could have swung away and struck the fan “in the jimmies” (to use a phrase in recent popular usage).


23 posted on 02/19/2012 9:50:05 AM PST by House Atreides
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 17 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

I thought pocket pool was a billards’ game.


24 posted on 02/19/2012 9:52:09 AM PST by bgill (Romney & Obama are both ineligible. A non-NBC GOP prez shuts down all ?s on Obama's admin)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: doodad

OMG! Someone in America is using common sense! Don’t let the government find out.


25 posted on 02/19/2012 10:02:20 AM PST by Lonesome in Massachussets (Ceterum autem censeo, Obama delenda est.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 22 | View Replies]

To: illiac

We were also watching, it was hilarious!


26 posted on 02/19/2012 10:04:10 AM PST by Gabz (Democrats for Voldemort.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 4 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd

Phil is such a classy guy.


27 posted on 02/19/2012 10:07:06 AM PST by andyk (Tax credits == Welfare)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Gabz

Will watch today as well....would love to see him get back to back wins....


28 posted on 02/19/2012 10:11:36 AM PST by illiac (If we don't change directions soon, we'll get where we're going)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 26 | View Replies]

To: Wiz-Nerd
One ...
Two ...
Three!!! Hey, I must be a tomcat! /obscure
29 posted on 02/19/2012 10:24:45 AM PST by NonValueAdded (Limbaugh: Tim Tebow miracle: "He had atheists praying to God that he would lose.")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: blueunicorn6

Ha! Good shot Phil!


30 posted on 02/19/2012 10:40:09 AM PST by Liberty Valance (Keep a simple manner for a happy life :o)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 2 | View Replies]

Tired of the disruptions?


31 posted on 02/19/2012 11:19:37 AM PST by RedMDer (Forward With Confidence!)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | View Replies]

To: RedMDer

Phil is a classy guy. When he hits someone with a ball, he has been known to slip a $100 bill or more in that autographed glove.


32 posted on 02/19/2012 11:35:01 AM PST by CTGOPPER (Republican in Connecticut)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 31 | View Replies]

To: ponygirl

Same here. I am trying to figure out the sequence of events that lead to the guy on the ground with the ball in his short’s leg. Maybe he was sitting down to begin with?


33 posted on 02/19/2012 2:23:47 PM PST by Wiz-Nerd
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 19 | View Replies]

To: ponygirl

Ponygirl, I thought the same. What was the sequence of events that put the guy on the ground and the ball in his short’s leg? Maybe he was sitting on the ground already?


34 posted on 02/19/2012 2:25:37 PM PST by Wiz-Nerd
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 19 | View Replies]

To: andyk

Phil is such a classy guy.
***************
A few years ago I saw Phil hit his tee shot or a long second shot. It hit a guy standing in the front row of the gallery right on his wristwatch and destroyed the watch.

After Phil hit his next shot, he took off his own watch and gave it to the man.


35 posted on 02/19/2012 4:49:16 PM PST by octex
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 27 | View Replies]

Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson