Skip to comments.Phil Mickelson's tee shot ends up in spectator's shorts. I kid you not.
Posted on 02/19/2012 8:50:34 AM PST by Wiz-Nerd
Mickelson's tee on No. 15 in Round 3 of Northern Trust In the third round of the 2012 Northern Trust Open, Phil Mickelson's tee shot on the par-4 15th hole actually ends up in a fan's shorts.
No penalty for a hazard that is not a natural part of the course like a grandstand or other non fixed items.
Colorado Springs, Colo. With all the grandstands, leaderboards, television towers and hospitality structures on the championship course, the Committee has marked these objects as temporary immovable obstructions (TIO). For relief from these temporary immovable obstructions, the Committee has adopted a Local Rule requiring players to proceed to a designated dropping zone for interference by the ball in or on the TIO, the players stance or area of intended swing. The player must lift the ball and drop it, without penalty, in the dropping zone nearest to where the ball lay (even if the dropping zone may be closer to the hole). Also, the ball may be cleaned when lifted.
On the 13th hole, Ryann OToole hit her ball into a grandstand (TIO) and it landed on a spectators lap. She proceeded to the dropping zone closest to where the ball lay and dropped the ball. When she dropped the ball, it rolled outside the dropping zone. However, it did not roll more than two club-lengths from the spot where it first struck a part of the course. Therefore, according to Rule 20-2c, the ball was in play and the player was not required to re-drop. To confirm this fact, the walking referee asked the rover if the ball was properly in play. This illustrates the teamwork amongst the Rules team.
“Then Phil kindly signed a glove for the good fan.
As it turned out, the fan was happy to get the glove, so it’s no big deal, but it was a bit presumptuous. It’s like giving someone your autograph who really didn’t ask for it.”
It could have been far worse for the fan. Mickelson could have swung away and struck the fan “in the jimmies” (to use a phrase in recent popular usage).
I thought pocket pool was a billards’ game.
OMG! Someone in America is using common sense! Don’t let the government find out.
We were also watching, it was hilarious!
Phil is such a classy guy.
Will watch today as well....would love to see him get back to back wins....
Ha! Good shot Phil!
Phil is a classy guy. When he hits someone with a ball, he has been known to slip a $100 bill or more in that autographed glove.
Same here. I am trying to figure out the sequence of events that lead to the guy on the ground with the ball in his short’s leg. Maybe he was sitting down to begin with?
Ponygirl, I thought the same. What was the sequence of events that put the guy on the ground and the ball in his short’s leg? Maybe he was sitting on the ground already?
Phil is such a classy guy.
A few years ago I saw Phil hit his tee shot or a long second shot. It hit a guy standing in the front row of the gallery right on his wristwatch and destroyed the watch.
After Phil hit his next shot, he took off his own watch and gave it to the man.
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.