Free Republic
Browse · Search
Topics · Post Article

To: DakotaRed
As best I can tell, 35 Clinton-appointed U.S. Attorneys left office during the Clinton years (including one Clinton re-appointee from the Bush I administration). Of the 35:

7 left to become federal judges;
2 left for other jobs in the Clinton administration;
1 left to become an immigration judge (N.D.CA USA Yamaguchi - under circumstances very similar to Bush N.D.CA USA Ryan);
7 left to run for elective office (including 1 who ultimately ran for NYS judge);
13 left to go into private practice or non-elected public service;
2 retired;
1 joined the office of special counsel investigating Waco; and
2 left because they assaulted someone (Colleton/Coffey).

6 of the Clinton Appointees resigned in August-October of 1997 to retire or enter private practice. These included:

1) Frederick W. Thieman (W.D.PA) (8/1/97). He had just indicted some bigwig Democrat donors on 7/18/97;
2) Kent B. Alexander (N.D.GA) (8/15/97). He was responsible for prosecuting the Centennial Olympic Bombing case;
3) John W. Raley, Jr. (E.D.OK) (8/15/97). Raley was a George H.W. Bush appointee who was reappointed by Clinton. He supposedly retired;
4) James B. Burns (N.D.IL) (8/20/97);
5) Patrick H. NeMoyer (9/26/97). He ultimately ended up running for NYS Supreme Court - in 1998 (which, despite the name, is our lowest state court, one step above city and town courts); and
6) Gaynelle Griffin Jones (10/10/97). According to some reports, she may have been subject to an internal DOJ probe regarding her handling of local investigations.

I have no proof that any of the six were forced out, but isn't it a bit strange that they all left about the same time, which also happened to be around the time some of their terms were going to expire?
14 posted on 04/14/2007 1:14:43 PM PDT by conservative in nyc
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 10 | View Replies ]

To: conservative in nyc
Good analysis.

I suppose this may have some relevance as well:


Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release

July 29, 1993

The President nominated eight individuals to be U.S. Attorneys today:

Eric H. Holder, Jr., for the District of Columbia
Michael Joseph Yamaguchi for the Northern District of
Randall K. Rathbun for the District of Kansas
Thomas Justin Monaghan for the District of Nebraska
Stephen Charles Lewis for the Northern District of Oklahoma
Vicki Miles-LaGrange for the Western District of Oklahoma
John W. Raley, Jr. for the Eastern District of Oklahoma
Frederick W. Theiman for the Western District of

Read more »

18 posted on 04/14/2007 1:29:50 PM PDT by Richard Poe
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 14 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794 is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson