Skip to comments.League defends decision not to review Evans non-catch (Ravens Robbed)
Posted on 01/22/2012 6:13:37 PM PST by 11th_VA
Posted by Mike Florio on January 22, 2012, 7:47 PM EST
Reuters Shortly before Ravens kicker Billy Cundiff did his best Gary Anderson impersonation (to the chagrin of Matt Birk), Ravens receiver Lee Evans had the ball in his hands, in the end zone. But Patriots defensive back Sterling Moore knocked the ball out of Evans hands, and the ruling on the field was that the would-be touchdown pass was incomplete.
Though it wasnt a scoring play, fewer than two minutes remained in the game. Thus, the decision (or not) to review the play was to be initiated by the replay assistant in the booth. Even though the slow-motion angle shown by CBS seemed to suggest that it may have been a catch, the replay assistant didnt instruct referee Alberto Riveron to take a look via the on-field portable TV on wheels.
As to whether a catch was made, the standard is simple. From Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 3: If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.
Theres no Calvin Johnson component. No requirement of a football move. Possession plus two feet down equals a catch, and a touchdown.
(Excerpt) Read more at profootballtalk.nbcsports.com ...
Sponsoring FReepers are contributing
$10 Each time a New Monthly Donor signs up!
Get more bang for your FR buck!
Click Here To Sign Up Now!
That's why the teams play so hard for home field advantage.
Losers Rule Number One; When you lose, blame the refs.
If they start fining ref’s for bad calls .....
Too bad, I hate to see the drooling psychopathic Belly-Upchuck get a win he didn't earn.
All one can do is shake their head. He had the ball in his hand for two or three steps.
Could the Ravens coach have initiate a challenge?
Borderline calls can go either way. That's why I don't complain about them. If you put yourself in a position to lose by a borderline call, blame yourself.
We wuz robbed!
Who are you gonna believe - your eyes or the lying refs?
They were feeling each other’s fingers.
Too sexy for tv.
who cares about the NFL or NBA anymore....nothing but a bunch of worthless thugs....while Rome burns.
jock sniffs need to get a life.
Looked to me the receiver did not have control of the ball. Correct ruling.
If that was a Brady to Wexler pass.....
I have no dog in this fight - IMHO no catch. Watching it at full speed, he did not have it. I don’t think the play by play guys even gave the call a second thought, or questioned it in any way.
Not in the last two minutes of a half or game. The NFL booth guy has to buzz the ref on the field that a review is called for.
They oughta take the case to court. Let the courts decide.
Wow. What a crazy ending. Great game. Baltimore almost beat the heavily favored Patriots (and maybe actually did beat them but for a bad ref call).
You are right. The NFL rules are almost retarded. They let you score on a run if you hypothetically break some molecule of a "plane" with the nose of the football for a milli second. Meanwhile, on a thrown ball, you have to damned near take three steps. Very inconsistent and stupid set of rules that only make things more difficult and controversial than they should be. Shame on the NFL for this self inflicted difficulty.
I played it back in slo-mo on my DVR. He did not hold the ball for two steps. the ball was loose just before the second foot landed.
It was a good call.......and I wanted the Ravens to win.
No - less than 1 minute left in game
Reminds me of the Redskins from the ‘70s when Mel Grey(?) bobbled the ball in the end zone. I don’t remember if it was a catch or not but it was a blown call.
The league disagrees. The ruling on the field of an incomplete pass was confirmed by the Instant Replay assistant, correctly, and as a result, there was no need to stop the game, the league said in a statement forwarded to PFT by spokesman Michael Signora. The receiver did not get his second foot down in the end zone with possession, and as a result, it was an incomplete pass.At most, they could have asked for a review, but there was nothing there to justify overturning the on-field call.
Former V.P. of officiating and current FOX rules analyst Mike Pereira expressed a similar sentiment via text message to PFT. Clearly not a catch, Pereira said. Ball coming out before second foot clearly down. . . . No need to review it because it was clearly incomplete.
Just filling some sports page space.
I think there is some poetic justice here. I was rather exasperated watching the Ravens beat the Texans last week with zero penalties called against them.
I think the NFL is becoming more and more like pro wrestling where viewing audiences must suspend certain rational beliefs about how penalties and non-calls influence the outcomes so decisively.
I have for 5 years been an increasingly bitter Cowboys fan. I long noticed the increasing of penalties called against the Cowboys since their dynasty years in the 1990s. I reviewed some data this year looking not just at how often they were called but how often their opponents are called.
For some strange reason, teams commit far fewer penalties when they place Dallas.
It would not be hard to create differentials between team/opponent penalty calls. Figure out who has the highest differentials. The refs are definitely shaping the outcomes of these games in my opinion.
>>I’m not a big Ravens fan, but holy crap - this play was a TD. <<
I am not going to say “not even close” but it was clear that the ball was stripped before both feet were set AND control was established.
The replay will be replayed only about a bazillion times (remember the “music city miracle?)”
It should’ve been reviewed but not overturned. The slo mo seems to show him losing control before second foot comes down. Evans seemed to agree with the call. Good call ref.
The first picture show the Indian out at first base against the Tigers but the ump called him safe ruining the pitcher’s perfect game. The next day, that ump was behind the plate so the Tigers sent out that same pither with the lineup card before the game. The umpire was extending his hand in a show of apology. He was torn up by his missing the call and the young pitcher was gracious in accepting his apology.
Um no. Absolutely not a TD. Receiver has to retain possession while making a football move. He did not. Sorry. Go cry in your beer.
You couldn’t keep either your team or your coach in Ohio. What’s wrong out there anyway?
Seems like from time of the 2002 "Snow Job" that the zeebs are deciding more and more games.
Panem et circenses.
If the rule really is 2 feet on the ground with control of the ball, it was clearly a touchdown.
I always thought you had to prove that you could make a “football move”, so if the ball fell out when you hit the ground they’d call it incomplete. I also thought though that once you had the ball in the end zone, once you had it in control it couldn’t be “knocked out”, since you already scored the touchdown at that point.
I was surprised they didn’t review the play at least. Even if they upheld the call, you’d feel they at least had taken a look.
Correct. No TD.
Ravens team is full of thugs and that murderer Lewis. Can’t see how anyone could want them to win anything.
Who is this Wexler?
Jim Joyce was the Ump.
The real missed call was the interference on the next play. The replay clearly showed the that Patriots defender was pushing the raven’s guy at the goal line, which was more than 10 yards downfield, which should have been illegal contact and an automatic 1st down.
They had called illegal contact a couple of series before that, against the Ravens, so it wasn’t like they were “letting them play”.
Roger that. Today he is referred to a “future Hall of Famer Ray Lewis”. Never hear anything mentioned about this:
Staubach/Pearson Hail Mary. Vikings robbed.
Cry me a river.
Can’t stand New England, but the call was obviously correct. By the time his second foot came down he was no longer in possession. Plain as day.
No. Caught the ball, first foot hits. Defender hits ball and it was coming out of the receiver's hands just before the second foot hit. He did not have control when the second foot hit.
At first look I agreed with you but upon further review, the pass is incomplete. I think the receiver knew it.
Meh, receiver did not have control of the ball. Looked like a pretty clear incomplete pass to me. No review would have changed the ruling on the field.
I thought the pass was clearly incomplete.
Saw it. It was a TD....period. End of discussion.
It’s not whining. I saw the game, saw the play....including in slo-mo....it WAS a touchdown. The receiver clearly touched the ground in the end zone with BOTH feet before having the ball knocked from his hands by a Patriot defender.
I know football. That, friend, was a touchdown.
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.