Skip to comments.Super Bowl 2012 final: Giants 21, Patriots 17
Posted on 02/05/2012 7:22:13 PM PST by SeekAndFind
INDIANAPOLIS -- On one last Hail Mary try, Tom Brady heaved it up for his two star tight ends in the end zone. Neither Rob Gronkowski or Aaron Hernandez, who both got a hand in the play, could come down with it.
The New York Giants beat the New England Patriots 21-17 in Super Bowl XLVI, the second time the Giants beat the Patriots in the last four years in the NFL's title game.
Giants RB Ahmad Bradshaw scored the go-ahead touchdown with 0:57 left in the game.
(Excerpt) Read more at boston.com ...
I have NEVER seen that kind of incomplete pass called intentionaL GROUNDING.
I was not going to watch it but discovered 3 players from my Alma Mater (Troy University) were starting for the Giants. Osi who always says “University of Troy”, the kicker, Tynes and kickoff returner, Jerrel Jernigan. Jernigan looked so good, I wish they would let him return punts too.
Newt called it for the Giants yesterday. Now hopefully he can call it for his campaign.
Headline-’Newt Wins in the Fourth Quarter!’
Like the Calvin Johnson "possession" controversy from last year, I think the NFL has too many pointy-heads making up the rules.
The very next week after the Calvin Johnson thing, I watched a highlight reel of a receiver making an almost-identical catch in the end zone. But, he lost control of the ball after he crossed the plane of the sideline, and it was ruled a touchdown.
Throwing throwing the ball out of bounds without a receiver in the area is illegal, and is called when it happens (though NFL quarterbacks are usually smart enough to throw it close enough to a receiver that it's not going to be called very often).
There is no way an official could know, unless he was psychic. Or maybe he was thinking “gotta be on the lookout for a safety” and then screwed up because of the Superbowl jitters. Or....Las Vegas?
As John Madden once famously said, “You have to remember, there are three teams on the field."
I have never seen that called either but after it was explained, it was a correct call. I also noticed the players picked up on it immediately and began making “safety” symbols with their hands.
Outside the tackle box, throws can be to nowhere. But inside the tackle box AND under heavy pressure, the call was easy.
Lots and lots of judgments involved - but Brady made this easy. It was grounding ... and it was a bad one.
Oh, and I made a bet when the Giants were 7-7 that they'd win the Superbowl with said brother in law. I could see a change in their attitude. WooHoo! Now he has to give me his intended Obama contribution!
Sure, without a receiver in the area, but when they make that throw “with a receiver in the area”, it’s 10 feet over everybody’s heads. Ain’t nobody catching that, not even Wilt Chamberlain. The intent is obvious.
It doesn't matter why there was no receiver in sight. There wasn't one - and Brady was inside the tackle box - and he was under pressure.
Who's to say it would have altered outcome anyway? Psychic refs? he he he
It's the correct call unlike the interference call they didn't make later in the game. Chris Collinsworth tried to chock it up to seeing the play in "real time" vs. reply. Anyone who can't make that call in real time shouldn't be reffing in the NFL.
Intentional Grounding of Forward Pass
Intentional grounding of a forward pass is a foul: loss of down and 10 yards from previous spot if passer is in the field of play or loss of down at the spot of the foul if it occurs more than 10 yards behind the line or safety if passer is in his own end zone when ball is released.
Intentional grounding will be called when a passer, facing an imminent loss of yardage due to pressure from the defense, throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion.
Intentional grounding will not be called when a passer, while out of the pocket and facing an imminent loss of yardage, throws a pass that lands at or beyond the line of scrimmage, even if no offensive player(s) have a realistic chance to catch the ball (including if the ball lands out of bounds over the sideline or end line).
:) Don’t get me started!
The end of the game was a trial by fire for this long-time Giants fan. Down by two points, with 57 seconds left and 2nd and goal from the six, the right call was to run two plays, make New England use their last time out, and attempt a game-winning field goal that, from that range, is just a glorified extra-point, which has a 99% probability of success.
Bill Belichick, wise coach that he is, was aware of the statistics, and told his defense to lie down and let the Giants score. Tom Coughlin, a bit older than Belichick, but also quite wise, told his team to keep the ball from crossing the goal line, to set up the potentially easy game-winning field goal.
Ahmad Bradshaw, hard-running halfback for the Giants, was aware of the situation, and tried valiantly to stop at the one yard-line, but he was unable to do so. The Giants scored the go-ahead touchdown, but gave the Patriots a real shot to come back with just under a minute to play, and one time out remaining. The fact that a few passes were dropped in the final minute, and a last-ditch hail Mary hit the ground after a few Patriots had a shot at it only proves what Coughlin had told his team beforehand. Don’t score! Had New England managed to come back, it would have been a totally avoidable scenario that had been undone by a player’s failure to heed his coach’s admonition.
YES THE NEW JERSEY GIANTS WON....!!!!
Not a total sucess as Brady still breathing (I’m a JETS FAN)
But Vice President Biden called it almost 3 weeks ago.
I’m sure he is happy someone is listening to him.