Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

Blue Jays pitcher Chad Jenkins catches ball and glove to complete crazy juggling play (Video)
Yahoo ^ | 28 Sep 2012 | Mark Townsend

Posted on 09/30/2012 6:24:57 AM PDT by shove_it

From the "I've never seen that" department comes this play in Friday night's Yankees-Blue Jays battle at Rogers Centre.

It happened in the very first inning with Yankees outfielder Curtis Granderson at the plate. Granderson would smack a hard line drive right back at Blue Jays starting pitcher Chad Jenkins, who reacted quickly and made a really impressive stab to catch the ball. However, the force of the hit ended up knocking Jenkins' glove straight into the air, but with ball still secure in glove, Jenkins would catch it up on the way down to complete the juggling catch and record the out.

(vid at link)

(Excerpt) Read more at sports.yahoo.com ...


TOPICS: Sports
KEYWORDS:

1 posted on 09/30/2012 6:25:01 AM PDT by shove_it
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | View Replies]

To: shove_it

In good spirits of the game, even Mr. Gunderson was caught smiling, and probably chuckling, as he was counted ‘out’.

And to quote a line from Star Trek - Deep Space Nine: “All the probabilities begin with the throw of the ball.”

Folks, can you see how much of a balliwick Sharia Law would have on this purely American game?

I know, I know, Congress has done enough on its own, to mar this American invention, haven’t they?


2 posted on 09/30/2012 6:31:18 AM PDT by Terry L Smith
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: shove_it

How about this 1999 play by yanks el duque

http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=20187559&c_id=mlb


3 posted on 09/30/2012 6:32:24 AM PDT by Vaquero (Don't pick a fight with an old guy. If he is too old to fight, he'll just kill you.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Terry L Smith

Yup. Gunderson’s gonna get kidded about that one forever.


4 posted on 09/30/2012 6:34:03 AM PDT by shove_it (DNC = perpetual emotion machine)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 2 | View Replies]

To: Vaquero

LOL! You topped it with that one.


5 posted on 09/30/2012 6:36:46 AM PDT by shove_it (DNC = perpetual emotion machine)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 3 | View Replies]

To: Vaquero

Very cool!


6 posted on 09/30/2012 6:36:59 AM PDT by pieceofthepuzzle
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 3 | View Replies]

To: shove_it

What if he had dropped the glove with the ball in it but the ball didn’t touch the ground, then he grabs the ball out of the glove?

Is it a fly ball out? Does the glove become part of the field when it leaves his hand and therefor he would have to throw the guy out at first?


7 posted on 09/30/2012 6:44:12 AM PDT by Right Wing Assault (Dick Obama is more inexperienced now than he was before he was elected.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Terry L Smith

I liked Curtis Granderson a lot when he was with the Tigers. Seems like a good guy who grew up with a strong family.


8 posted on 09/30/2012 6:45:59 AM PDT by cripplecreek (What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world but loses his soul?)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 2 | View Replies]

To: Vaquero

How bout the invisible bat grand slam yesterday.

http://www.usatoday.com/story/gameon/2012/09/29/nationals-michael-morse-hits-invisible-home-run/1603627/


9 posted on 09/30/2012 6:48:02 AM PDT by cripplecreek (What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world but loses his soul?)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 3 | View Replies]

To: Vaquero
http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info/official_rules/runner_7.jsp

7.05
Each runner including the batter-runner may, without liability to be put out, advance --

---- snip -------

(b) Three bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a fair ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril;
(c) Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril.
(d) Two bases, if a fielder deliberately touches a thrown ball with his cap, mask or any part of his uniform detached from its proper place on his person. The ball is in play;
(e) Two bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a thrown ball. The ball is in play;
Comment: Under (c-e) this penalty shall not be invoked against a fielder whose glove is carried off his hand by the force of a batted or thrown ball, or when his glove flies off his hand as he makes an obvious effort to make a legitimate catch.

Under these rules it isn't at all clear to me if a fielder can throw his glove containing the ball to another fielder to effect an out. El Duque was lucky the ball didn't come out of the glove, btw. Still an interesting play.
10 posted on 09/30/2012 6:49:36 AM PDT by Lonesome in Massachussets (Kafka in the throes of a demonic possession could not have come up with the "tuck rule".)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 3 | View Replies]

To: Right Wing Assault
A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in his hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it;

My call: if he drops the glove, he did not get the ball in secure possession and firmly hold it.

11 posted on 09/30/2012 6:56:22 AM PDT by Lonesome in Massachussets (Kafka in the throes of a demonic possession could not have come up with the "tuck rule".)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 7 | View Replies]

To: shove_it

I have always wondered what would happen if an outfielder, instead of watching ball about to go over the fence for a homerun, if he were to throw his glove at the ball and hit it? If the ball came down in the field of play, would it be in play then? Not be a homerun? What if the outfielder caught the ball, would it be an out?


12 posted on 09/30/2012 6:58:57 AM PDT by rawhide
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: Terry L Smith

“Folks, can you see how much of a balliwick Sharia Law would have on this purely American game?”

What on earth do you mean? “Bailiwick” means jurisdiction.

Can you see how much of a jurisdiction Sharia Law would have on this purely American game?????????????????? huh???


13 posted on 09/30/2012 7:08:33 AM PDT by yldstrk (My heroes have always been cowboys)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 2 | View Replies]

To: shove_it

That was great.


14 posted on 09/30/2012 7:22:28 AM PDT by svcw (Why is one cell on another planet concidered life, and in the womb it is not.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: cripplecreek

got a good chuckle outta that one....thanks.


15 posted on 09/30/2012 7:53:41 AM PDT by Vaquero (Don't pick a fight with an old guy. If he is too old to fight, he'll just kill you.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 9 | View Replies]

To: cripplecreek
Never seen that one before.

They made the right call. ..still very odd & funny.

16 posted on 09/30/2012 8:08:38 AM PDT by TexasCajun
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 9 | View Replies]

To: Right Wing Assault

No, it is not a flyball out. The rules specifically state that a player may not try to stop the ball by throwing a glover or mitt, a belt, cap or other paraphernalia to stop a ball. The important thing is that he had the ball for the out.


17 posted on 09/30/2012 8:14:10 AM PDT by righttackle44 (I may not be much, but I raised a United States Marine.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 7 | View Replies]

To: Vaquero
I still like this one:

Randy Johnson hits bird

18 posted on 09/30/2012 8:22:20 AM PDT by Joe 6-pack (Que me amat, amet et canem meum)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 3 | View Replies]

To: Joe 6-pack

I seem to recall Dave Winfield hitting a fly ball that struck and killed a bird (seagull or pigeon) during a game in Canada. A lot of people were mad at him for killing the poor bird.


19 posted on 09/30/2012 10:23:14 AM PDT by Verginius Rufus
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 18 | View Replies]

To: Verginius Rufus
IIRC, Dave Winfield' incident was no accident. He was warming up pre-game or between innings, and deliberately threw the ball at the bird.

That's what got folks upset about the Winfield incident.

20 posted on 09/30/2012 10:44:32 AM PDT by Joe 6-pack (Que me amat, amet et canem meum)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 19 | View Replies]

To: cripplecreek

I followed the Nats this year, Morse had Molina cracking up, Molina was the one who told him to swing again last night.

Freegards


21 posted on 09/30/2012 10:55:54 AM PDT by Ransomed
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 9 | View Replies]

To: Joe 6-pack

Yeah. A big unit classic.


22 posted on 09/30/2012 2:08:51 PM PDT by Vaquero (Don't pick a fight with an old guy. If he is too old to fight, he'll just kill you.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 18 | View Replies]

To: righttackle44; All

Here’s another classic. Carlos Martinez (Indians) homers off Jose Canseco’s head.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9StStOsFpg


23 posted on 09/30/2012 4:25:49 PM PDT by Right Wing Assault (Dick Obama is more inexperienced now than he was before he was elected.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 17 | View Replies]

Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson