Skip to comments.IIHF will change rule after disallowed goal in USA-Russia game
Posted on 02/19/2014 12:33:57 AM PST by chessplayer
According to IIHF president Rene Fasel, this rule is about to change.
Here's the translation of Championat.ru's interview with Fasel via Puck Daddy:
What can you say about the disallowed goal because of the dislodged net?
We will change that rule. To disallow a goal because of two centimeters? That's nonsense.
(Excerpt) Read more at cbssports.com ...
>>Two centimeters is barely three quarters of an inch. Can’t blame the Russians for being pissed off. Their team was screwed, even if the U.S. referee called it “by the book.”<<
It’s a game after all. They have their chance to catch up.
the rules is the rules, both teams were playing by the same ones I hope.
The Russian referee who reviewed the call also agreed.
Yes, where do they draw the line? It is certainly not easy, but how about 2 and 1/4? How about 2 and 1/2? Where do they draw the line? If they make it a judgement call by the officials, then each one will have a different interpretation of it.
Bunch of whiny Russians.
In other news, Vladamir Putin announced the latest capitalist venture by his country. It is to be called the Russian Ice Hockey Referee Ice Company. Based in Northern Siberia, each referee armed with only an ice pick, will get to spend the next 20 years bagging ice to be used in the was against Global Warming.
Should be the same as the NHL anyways...”disallowed if the net is completely off the moorings before the puck crosses the line.”
There are pins in the ice to hold the net frame in place. Either it is pinned or it isn’t. There was no judgement call to be made. One side was knocked out of its pinned location. The rules are the rules.
However, if this had been an NHL game, the goal would have been allowed.
Good decision to make the rule change, IMHO.
rules is rules. the ruskies are still carrying a grudge over 1980..
Isn’t that the same game that the Russians were off-side and scored their first goal? Why didn’t they disallow that goal as well? Should never been allowed. Russians would not have been in a position to win even IF they scored that last “net off the post” goal.
Its a game, live with it, it’s over.
I am not sure, but you may have missed my point. I played the game myself. I know about the pins holding the net. My point was, if they are going to change the rules, how are they going to do it? I don’t see how they can. As you say, the net is either on the pins, or it is not. I don’t see any middle ground where the rules can be changed. I think it is sour grapes on their part.
The net is either on, or its off. You can’t score a goal with the net off. It doesn’t matter if its two centimeters or two feet.
Seems pretty simple to me.
What I don’t get is why they didn’t set the clock back to the time that the net was dislodged. If it was impossible to score because the net was dislodged, they should at least get that playing time back.
Related story on Drudge::
“NHL official becomes the most hated American in Russia: Protesters threaten to kill US hockey referee and turn him into SOAP as they blame him for Games loss to States”
Russian fans are almost as rabid as NHL fans.
The NHL rule is “completely” off the moorings. It would have been a goal in the NHL.
Consider it payback for the 1972 Gold Medal game in Basketball.
Which doesn’t preclude you from realizing it’s a badly written rule and fixing it for the future. Nobody is trying to rewrite the past, but there is a reason why the NHL dislodged net rule specifically calls out effecting the play, and IIHF has learned that reason and will fix it.
The NHL rule would only disallow the goal if the dislodging of the net somehow helped the puck get in (like if it was the near post that was off and the puck had gone near side), otherwise the goal counts. It’s actually pretty easy to officiate.
Bunch of whiny Russians.
Had it been the other way, we would be whining about it. Guaranteed.
I believe the primary change is that both sides have to be dislodged, not just one side to disallow the goal. The one side rule apparently is just in the Olympics.
IIHF rules have several differences from NHL rules. I’m not sure how they differ from the KHL. But in the end, Russia lost to Finland 3-1 so it’s a moot point.
I don't think this comes close to the cheating that was allowed in 1972.
I still hold a grudge on that one.
No, the one side being unpinned rule is everywhere. You think they’re going to allow a goal where the net is pinned on one side, but the net has spun 90deg and is facing the side of the rink (which happens quite often)?
Just repeating what NBC said...
So what is the difference in the Olympic rule and the NHL rule regarding the goal becoming unpinned?