Skip to comments.Bass Pro Shops sued for ‘a worthless class’ on concealed carry
Posted on 04/08/2014 4:07:20 PM PDT by aimhigh
A Joliet man is suing Bass Pro Shops for falsely advertising a worthless class that failed to meet the required training hours to obtain an Illinois concealed carry permit, according to a lawsuit filed Monday.
Ambrose attended the class after seeing an advertisement in October 2013 inside a Bolingbrook Bass Pro Shops called, Illinois Concealed Carry Permit Class, the lawsuit said. The classes were such a failure, however, that the Illinois State Police issued a news release April 1 stating that Andel was no longer approved to train Illinois Concealed Carry Curricula and that all of his 327 applicants were denied.
(Excerpt) Read more at southtownstar.suntimes.com ...
So is this the way that the feds will prohibit concealed carry now? Am going to the article to read the rest of the story
This is a shame for Bass Pro. It is a shame for the people of Illinois. There should be zero requirements to carry concealed. No classes. No background check. No interaction with the government. What part of ‘shall not be infringed’ is so difficult to understand?
You forgot the no permit part too.
Concealed permits will become a defacto firearm license.
My Illinois CC instructor, a local sheriff’s deputy from another county, informed all students that he had received initial approval by the State of Illinois. His instructor’s number, a photo and a completed form were submitted electronically while my digital fingerprints were sent directly to the state by the passport photo booth. My only complaint is that the state’s electronic form requires Java which means I had to use a friend’s office computer.
Heck when I got my permit in Florida I had to have my fingerprints taken 5 times. The would have refused them the 5th time but the law specifically limited them.
Yes the cops screwed up taking my prints 5 times.
The Illinois rule for 16 hours of training is excessive and designed to discourage CCW. I agree CCW is a Second Amendment right and permits are an infringement, but if a permit with minimal requirements make me legal to carry, I’ll get the permit. Less government is better government, so we have to push back when bureaucrats overreach.
Bass should have advertised the class was 8 hours training towards the required 16 hours. Or, got the state to agree the time on the computer part amounted to X# of hours in addition to the class part.
this state adopted a program the knew was not normal for this reason.
is this a real plaintiff or a ringer?
I’m guessing real. At illinoiscarry (a major pro-2A forum) we all took very seriously making sure the classes we signed up for were going to survive hostile scrutiny. We are still at war with the anti-gun politocos than run the state from lib mecca Chicago. Those who got burned by a poorly executed CC course will have the option of applying again after they get the proper training. The requirements were out there, but I think some tried to cash in early and got ahead of themselves. Big mistake in this environment. We will continue to fight for complete 2A freedom, but these are the rules for now, and the tens of thousands of us who are carrying will just have to make this work until things get better.
In reading the rest of the story it sounded like folks without police or military background are required to have more class room hours. Ya gotta read the fine lines
Lawsuits against “worthless” classes could be a cool trend if it moves towards the “colleges” and “universities”. The trial lawyers could really clean up.
Heck when I got my permit in Florida I had to have my fingerprints taken 5 times. The would have refused them the 5th time but the law specifically limited them. Yes the cops screwed up taking my prints 5 times.You should have raised a fuss. The law specifically limits them to 2 fingerprint attempts. If they can't get legible prints after 2 attempts, they have to proceed without it and cannot deny you because of that.
“Concealed permits will become a defacto firearm license.”
The reason I have not, and will not apply for one
At the time the limit was 5 in Florida.
Well, the limit has been 2 since Florida passed its shall-issue law back in ‘87. What year did this happen?
All i know is the form i had from the state said five times. And the letter i received from the state said five.
There could be different requirements between in-state vs. out of state permits.