Skip to comments.League defends decision not to review Evans non-catch (Ravens Robbed)
Posted on 01/22/2012 6:13:37 PM PST by 11th_VA
Posted by Mike Florio on January 22, 2012, 7:47 PM EST
Reuters Shortly before Ravens kicker Billy Cundiff did his best Gary Anderson impersonation (to the chagrin of Matt Birk), Ravens receiver Lee Evans had the ball in his hands, in the end zone. But Patriots defensive back Sterling Moore knocked the ball out of Evans hands, and the ruling on the field was that the would-be touchdown pass was incomplete.
Though it wasnt a scoring play, fewer than two minutes remained in the game. Thus, the decision (or not) to review the play was to be initiated by the replay assistant in the booth. Even though the slow-motion angle shown by CBS seemed to suggest that it may have been a catch, the replay assistant didnt instruct referee Alberto Riveron to take a look via the on-field portable TV on wheels.
As to whether a catch was made, the standard is simple. From Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 3: If a player controls the ball while in the end zone, both feet, or any part of his body other than his hands, must be completely on the ground before losing control, or the pass is incomplete.
Theres no Calvin Johnson component. No requirement of a football move. Possession plus two feet down equals a catch, and a touchdown.
(Excerpt) Read more at profootballtalk.nbcsports.com ...
Jim Joyce was the Ump.
The real missed call was the interference on the next play. The replay clearly showed the that Patriots defender was pushing the raven’s guy at the goal line, which was more than 10 yards downfield, which should have been illegal contact and an automatic 1st down.
They had called illegal contact a couple of series before that, against the Ravens, so it wasn’t like they were “letting them play”.
Roger that. Today he is referred to a “future Hall of Famer Ray Lewis”. Never hear anything mentioned about this:
Staubach/Pearson Hail Mary. Vikings robbed.
Cry me a river.
Can’t stand New England, but the call was obviously correct. By the time his second foot came down he was no longer in possession. Plain as day.
No. Caught the ball, first foot hits. Defender hits ball and it was coming out of the receiver's hands just before the second foot hit. He did not have control when the second foot hit.
At first look I agreed with you but upon further review, the pass is incomplete. I think the receiver knew it.
Meh, receiver did not have control of the ball. Looked like a pretty clear incomplete pass to me. No review would have changed the ruling on the field.
I thought the pass was clearly incomplete.
Saw it. It was a TD....period. End of discussion.
It’s not whining. I saw the game, saw the play....including in slo-mo....it WAS a touchdown. The receiver clearly touched the ground in the end zone with BOTH feet before having the ball knocked from his hands by a Patriot defender.
I know football. That, friend, was a touchdown.
I just saw it on Sports Center. That looked like a touchdown.
What about the non-conviction of Ray Lewis for murder?
In order to overturn the ruling on the field the video "evidence" has to be indisputable. This isn't, can't say for certain he still had possession of the ball as his left foot comes down. So the ruling on the field stands. Had the ruling been a TD, I'd say the video wouldn't have been sufficient to to overturn that either.
Didn’t watch the game, don’t have a dog in the fight—just saw the catch in the end zone again on ESPN, and again, it looked like a TD.
He had possession long enough that he could dropped it/had it knocked out of his hands, spiked it, or thrown it into the stands if he wanted to.
Or Gronkowski..........even if it touched the ground!.........
Yes it was a clear touchdown. The receiver even took a step while possessing the ball in the endzone, after having both feet down while possessing the ball. He does not need to go down to the ground while possessing the ball since it is the endzone.
Sorry, get a life. Your team lost fair and square. I know its frustrating but be a MAN and accept it. Had that been ruled a touchdown, the Pats would have had a real gripe that they were robbed. As it is, you don’t have a real gripe.
I’m a Pats fan, and agree it was a bad call. I also think the call was wrong on Brady’s lob pass to Gronkowski (in the first half, which would have set up a touchdown).
When Gronkowski caught the ball he had one foot already flat on the ground. His other foot came down well inbound the line, which should have completed the play. Instead the decision was based on the second step after the catch — ignoring that that foot was already on the ground when he caught the ball.