Free Republic 3rd Quarter Fundraising Target: $85,000 Receipts & Pledges to-date: $68,580
80%  
Woo hoo!! After accruing the balance of the monthlies we're now over 80%!! Less than $17k to go!! Let's git 'er done!! Thank you all very much!!

Keyword: hd40307

Brevity: Headers | « Text »
  • The John Batchelor Show Sunday July 13th, 2008

    07/13/2008 1:01:18 PM PDT · by Perdogg · 47 replies · 53+ views
    The John Batchelor Show Listenlive from 7pm – 10pm ET (4pm – 7pm PT) on WABC AM 770 New York City 10pm – 1am ET (7pm – 10pm PT) on KFI AM 640 Los Angeles If you missed last week show, listen on John Batchelor On-Demand Podcast Sunday July 6 WABC in New York and WMAL in Washington DC and KSFO in San Francisco. Sundays 7 PM-10 PM Eastern Time 705P ET: Jodi Schneider, Congressional Quarterly, re Congress sinking toward single digits in approval, re Congress now moving chairs on the Titanic (left, just launched 1911) of the credit markets...
  • Astronomers discover clutch of 'super-Earths'

    06/16/2008 10:57:17 AM PDT · by NormsRevenge · 45 replies · 645+ views
    AFP on Yahoo ^ | 6/16/08 | AFP
    NANTES, France (AFP) - European scientists on Monday said they had located five 'super-Earths', each of them between four and 30 times bigger than our planet, in a trio of distant solar systems. The discovery suggests that at least one third of stars similar to our own Sun host these difficult-to-detect celestial bodies, multiplying previous estimates by five. It also brings astronomers closer to finding planets outside our solar system, called exoplanets, that could potentially duplicate the conditions that gave rise to life on Earth. "In a year or two, it is likely that we will find habitable planets circling...