"Kosher For Passover" means NO WHEAT or BARLEY or RYE. Hence the need to invent La Choy soy sauce. Else observant Jewish people would be at a loss with their sushi during Passover. (Serious business this).
Right after PASSOVER I purchase certain otherwise very costly prepared foods at the grocery store that are marked "KOSHER FOR PASSOVER". They are all gluten free, and are usually marked way down.
Somebody wanted a BIblical reference on this ~ and there it is. HARD CORE TOO! MOSAIC!
There is a type of Clematus that likes to grow in wheat fields ~ they love it in fact ~ but they have a poison that can contaminate wheat ~ and if it's passed along to humans it will kill your liver, and I believe your kidneys.
There's an injunction in the Bible to the Hebrews (early users and developers of wheat) to BURN OVER THE STUBBLE At the end of the season.
That usually kills any Clematus starts or seeds as well and makes the wheat grown in a burned field safe for human consumption the next year.
That's another obscure Biblical reference ~ not at all on the order of the PASSOVER PROHIBITIONS ~ but still, it's in there ~ ancient wisdom earned the hard way.
The day I realized Kosher For Passover had a special meaning for the three plants I can never eat in any quantity a chill ran down my back.
Would you please provide the specific Scripture that bans WHEAT BARLEY RYE from Passover?
And could you also provide more information upon the 'type of Clematus' you say contaminates wheat? I cannot find any association with the zewan or Bearded Darnel that looks like wheat until it goes to seed and it is the seed that is poisonous. Apparently from what I can find out the zewan's seed darkens as it ripens and is much lighter in weight than the wheat that turns golden. And because of the lite weight of the zewan the majority get blown out with the chaff. And what does not get blown out is then sorted by machinery due to the difference in size.
Wheat, barley and rye are not banned for Passover. Leavening (Chametz) is. The matzahs you can buy at the store for passover? Made from wheat.
Isn’t it all so interesting?
The only wheat I’ve had (unless it was hidden in a restaurant dish, I have eaten Asian, etc a few times) since September 2010 were the two”bits” of matzah I was required to eat last year at the two Seders.
This year I found some gluten free matzah. The sad thing is, it says kosher for Passover but not for use for religious purposes. I feel that Gd wanted us to live through the commandments and not be made sick by them. I will use the gluten free matzah anyway. The only night I had acid reflux was the first night I had matzah. Never had it before. It scared me so much- I woke up unable to breathe. (I was pregnant)
And I love the “ritual” of challah and the after bread prayer (birkat hamazon). I miss it.
But I won’t go back to gluten.