Skip to comments.Dodgers turn first 2-5-6-3 triple play in history but Padres cry foul over umpire’s actions
Posted on 04/16/2012 8:54:25 AM PDT by rawhide
Before Sunday, it had been 130 years since anyone turned a similar type of bizarre triple play that the Los Angeles Dodgers turned against the San Diego Padres in the ninth inning of a 5-4 win.
But with the logistics involved and the help from the home plate umpire that the Dodgers received, it'll probably take another 130 years for anyone to do it again.
For those keeping score at home, that's a 2-5-6-3 triple play that went around all four bases, the first 2-5-6-3 triple play that featured a putout at third, second and first.
(Excerpt) Read more at sports.yahoo.com ...
the ball was struck by the bat, landed in foul territory, and then, untouched by any player, proceeded to roll fair.
by rule, that is a fair ball. the triple play was legitimate.
Looked like a good play to me. Confusion over the ump hand gestures, but it hit the bat like a bunt. Went fair.
That’s my take as well.
this is why you ALWAYS run out a foul ball.
What does 2-5-6-3 represent??
when keeping box scores a 2-5-6-3 lets someone that is reading it know what happend in the play. each number represents a defensive position. 2 = catcher, 5= third, 6 = short stop, 3 = first baseman. so if you know there was three outs made this play and the order of people involved in the play.. you can picture how it went down without watching video/radio.
Agree, but the home plate ump definitely gave the base runners the wrong hand signals, causing them all to think it was a foul ball. Therefore they did not run, thus the triple play.
I wonder what the rules say in situations like this?
Thanks, I understand now.
-—Confusion over the ump hand gestures, but it hit the bat like a bunt. Went fair.-—
Cool. I guess they can complain about the ump’s signals, but if in doubt, play to the whistle. There’s no excuse for the batter not running it out.
Scoring, in baseball, is done using numbers to represent the defensive posistions. I don’t know the sequence off the top of my head. I think the catcher is 2 and then threw to the third basemen, who was 5, etc.
Catcher-third base-shortstop (covering second)-first base.
Catcher to third baseman to shortstop to first baseman.
The Dodger catcher made a real heads up play by going for the ball while it was still moving in fair territory. Had he allowed it to roll foul again, there would have been no play. What I found really amazing is that the Seattle players and the batter all froze after the ump made the fair ball call.
They would probably have been out anyway, but back in the 60's or 70's, the player would have been fined by the team for at least not trying to advance.
I saw what you saw. Probably should have run it out, just to be sure.
The Padres weren’t very mobile either :)
I was watching the game, and you are bang on about the catcher making a heads up play.
it appeared as though he started to pick it up in foul territory, but saw the potential for a multi-out play and let it roll.
for whatever reason, he waited for it to go fair before he pounced on it, and directed the infielders to throw the ball back across all three bases.
If the ball were ever “foul” on the play, it cannot become “fair”, or “un-foul” by being untouched by a player, etc.
I recognize that an untouched “fair” ball CAN become “foul” by rule, but you would need to explain to me how the reciprocal was true.
The call had to have been “fair ball” from the beginning for this play to be within the rule.
Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.