Free Republic
Browse · Search
Topics · Post Article

The "Catholic Archbishop" who nominated Tookie for the award is listed here:

Listing of Gnostic Churches

Gnostic/Other Related Churches

Africano Gnostica Catholica Apostolica - Primacia De North America       Archbishop William A. Harrison (Tau Moses I)


Mailing address

P. O. Box 1050, West Monroe, Louisiana 71294-1050




3 posted on 12/03/2005 10:26:37 AM PST by cgk (I don't see myself as a conservative. I see myself as a religious, right-wing, wacko extremist.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies ]

To: cgk

I just noticed--they don't even have a church location. They meet at 307 Natchitoches Street. According to google, that is either an art gallery called "A Strange Brew" or a dog groomer called "Groomingdales".

Worship Location...

We are meeting at: 307 Natchitoches Street West Monroe, Louisiana 71291 (* Historic Antique Alley, off Trenton Street)

40 posted on 12/03/2005 5:17:50 PM PST by calcowgirl
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 3 | View Replies ]

To: cgk; Spiff

The nomination and selection process

Each year there are 100 to 250 nominees for each prize. Although anyone can be nominated, not everyone can nominate someone for a Nobel Prize. For example the website of the Nobel Foundation says that in the case of the peace prize the following people may nominate:

Similar requirements are in place for the other prizes. However, unlike many other awards, the Nobel Prize nominees are never publicly announced, and they are not supposed to be told that they were ever considered for the prize. These records are sealed for 50 years to avoid turning the awarding of the prize into a popularity contest.

The strictly enforced deadline for postmarking of nominations is February 1. Self-nominations are automatically disqualified. Only living persons may be nominated for the Nobel Prize. This has sometimes sparked criticism that people deserving of a Nobel Prize did not receive the award because they died before being nominated.

In two cases the prize has been awarded posthumously to people that were nominated when they were still alive. This was the case with UN Secretary General Dag Hammarskjöld (1961, Peace Prize) and Erik Axel Karlfeldt (1931, Literature) — both of whom were awarded the prize in the years they died.

47 posted on 12/04/2005 12:31:42 AM PST by Howlin ("Victory is not a strategy. " ``Jack Murtha 11/18/05)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 3 | View Replies ]

Free Republic
Browse · Search
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794 is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson