Free Republic
Browse · Search
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

Julia Gillard announces (Australian) federal election date ^ | 30th January 2012 | Malcolm Farr and Simon Benson

Posted on 01/29/2013 8:55:56 PM PST by naturalman1975

VOTERS will go to the polls on September 14 in what will mark the longest election campaign in the nation's history.

In a speech at the National Press Club Prime Minister Gillard confirmed the election date.

The Prime Minister said her early announcement would allow business and consumers to "plan their year". But it was also a challenge to the Opposition to deliver policy detail sooner than it might want.

"The benefit of fixing the date now is not just the end of speculation about election timing. It gives shape and order to year," she said.

(Excerpt) Read more at ...

TOPICS: Australia/New Zealand; Culture/Society; Foreign Affairs; News/Current Events
This is highly unusual. Election dates are normally set for Australian Federal elections, only when the Prime Minister asks the Governor General to dissolve Parliament and issue the writs for an election. An election follows within weeks.
1 posted on 01/29/2013 8:56:03 PM PST by naturalman1975
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | View Replies]

To: naturalman1975

Abbott obviously caused this by starting to campaign and not waiting for the PM. First win to Tony. Now if he can just get the press to pay some attention to his “plan” rather than them making personality the issue.


2 posted on 01/30/2013 12:41:20 AM PST by melsec (Once a Jolly Swagman camped by a Billabong....)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.

Free Republic
Browse · Search
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794 is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson