Interesting. I’ve read a lot of these “eliminate all grains from your diet” things - but all the way through the bible, grains and working with them were staples. Hard to understand. Anyone???
"Kosher For Passover" means NO WHEAT or BARLEY or RYE. Hence the need to invent La Choy soy sauce. Else observant Jewish people would be at a loss with their sushi during Passover. (Serious business this).
Right after PASSOVER I purchase certain otherwise very costly prepared foods at the grocery store that are marked "KOSHER FOR PASSOVER". They are all gluten free, and are usually marked way down.
Somebody wanted a BIblical reference on this ~ and there it is. HARD CORE TOO! MOSAIC!
There is a type of Clematus that likes to grow in wheat fields ~ they love it in fact ~ but they have a poison that can contaminate wheat ~ and if it's passed along to humans it will kill your liver, and I believe your kidneys.
There's an injunction in the Bible to the Hebrews (early users and developers of wheat) to BURN OVER THE STUBBLE At the end of the season.
That usually kills any Clematus starts or seeds as well and makes the wheat grown in a burned field safe for human consumption the next year.
That's another obscure Biblical reference ~ not at all on the order of the PASSOVER PROHIBITIONS ~ but still, it's in there ~ ancient wisdom earned the hard way.
The day I realized Kosher For Passover had a special meaning for the three plants I can never eat in any quantity a chill ran down my back.