Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

Skip to comments.

Cassini's Saturn Crash 2017 How to Watch Its 'Grand Finale
, Space.com ^ | September 7, 2017 11:00am ET | Mike Wall Senior Writer |

Posted on 09/07/2017 11:09:01 AM PDT by BenLurkin

NASA will air a series of webcasts leading up Cassini’s final suicide plunge, which you will be able to watch here at Space.com, courtesy of NASA TV. Here’s the streaming schedule:

Wednesday, Sept. 13

1 p.m. EDT (1700 GMT): News conference from NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), home of Cassini’s mission control, providing a detailed preview of final mission activities.

Thursday, Sept. 14

1 p.m. to 6 p.m. EDT (1700 to 2200 GMT): NASA Social event at JPL that includes a speaker program, which will be webcast live. About 11 p.m. EDT (0300 GMT on Sept. 15): Final downlink of Cassini images is expected to begin; these images will be streamed online.

Friday, Sept. 15

7:00 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. EDT (1100 to 1230 GMT): Live commentary about end-of-mission activities. An uninterrupted camera feed from JPL Mission Control, with mission audio only, will also be available during the commentary, NASA officials said. About 8 a.m. EDT (1200 GMT): Cassini’s last science data, and final signal, should come down to Earth. 9:30 a.m. EDT (1330 GMT): Post-mission news conference from JPL.

(Excerpt) Read more at space.com ...


TOPICS: Astronomy
KEYWORDS: cassini; crash; saturn; watch

1 posted on 09/07/2017 11:09:02 AM PDT by BenLurkin
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | View Replies]

To: BenLurkin

I’ll bet it discovers a bustling civilization run entirely by scantily clad women - 1950’s style.


2 posted on 09/07/2017 11:13:01 AM PDT by robroys woman
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: robroys woman
1958


3 posted on 09/07/2017 11:17:32 AM PDT by BenLurkin (The above is not a statement of fact. It is either satire or opinion. Or both.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 2 | View Replies]

To: robroys woman
Poor Cassini....


4 posted on 09/07/2017 11:19:18 AM PDT by BenLurkin (The above is not a statement of fact. It is either satire or opinion. Or both.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 2 | View Replies]

To: BenLurkin

bump to watch on the 15th ...


5 posted on 09/07/2017 11:21:44 AM PDT by BlueLancer (ANTIFA - The new and improved SturmAbteilung)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: BenLurkin

“Suicide plunge”?

No! Don’t do it! You have a lot to live for!

Think of your wife and your little electric razors!


6 posted on 09/07/2017 11:26:13 AM PDT by blueunicorn6 ("A crack shot and a good dancer")
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: BenLurkin

What - no recycling?!


7 posted on 09/07/2017 11:26:58 AM PDT by rockrr (Everything is different now...)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: BenLurkin

Thanks for the heads up Ben.


8 posted on 09/07/2017 11:46:15 AM PDT by Joe Boucher (President Trump makes obammy look like the punk he is.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: BenLurkin

Nest to Voyager, Vyger”, Cassini is probably our nest most accomplished mission.

Way Kool


9 posted on 09/07/2017 11:48:33 AM PDT by Joe Boucher (President Trump makes obammy look like the punk he is.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: BenLurkin

Wouldn’t this be considered declaring war on Saturn?


10 posted on 09/07/2017 12:04:05 PM PDT by Rebelbase
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 1 | View Replies]

To: robroys woman
I bet all they ever wanted was a ring...

-PJ

11 posted on 09/07/2017 12:06:44 PM PDT by Political Junkie Too (The 1st Amendment gives the People the right to a free press, not CNN the right to the 1st question.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 2 | View Replies]

To: Political Junkie Too

Pretty much. Yeah.


12 posted on 09/07/2017 12:08:58 PM PDT by BenLurkin (The above is not a statement of fact. It is either satire or opinion. Or both.)
[ Post Reply | Private Reply | To 11 | View Replies]

Disclaimer: Opinions posted on Free Republic are those of the individual posters and do not necessarily represent the opinion of Free Republic or its management. All materials posted herein are protected by copyright law and the exemption for fair use of copyrighted works.

Free Republic
Browse · Search
General/Chat
Topics · Post Article

FreeRepublic, LLC, PO BOX 9771, FRESNO, CA 93794
FreeRepublic.com is powered by software copyright 2000-2008 John Robinson